New Zealand Curling

  • Decrease font size
  • Default font size
  • Increase font size
New Zealand Curling
Frauenlob, Matthews win Seniors titles PDF Print E-mail
Team Frauenlob
Iain Craig, Hans Frauenlob, Lorne DePape

Hans Frauenlob skipped his side of Dan Mustapic, Lorne DePape and Iain Craig on an undefeated run through the 2014 NZ Senior Championships to win the Men's title.

For 2006 Olympians Frauenlob and DePape this was their third title in the 4 years the event has been run, while it was the second win for DePape.

The side won all of their round robin games comprehensively to qualify directly for the final, where they were taken to the last stone by Peter Becker's 2013 winners.

WCF introduce new events, rule changes PDF Print E-mail
WCF Congress
WCF Annual General Assembly 2014
Photo: Don Chang/WCF

7 Sep 2014 – Members of the World Curling Federation have elected a new board and voted to introduce a new World Junior qualification event, a World Mixed Curling Championship, along with approving a raft of other key rule changes.

The competition and rule changes and board elections took place at the World Curling Federation’s Annual General Assembly held during the 3rd Annual World Curling Congress in Reno, Nevada, USA.


EGGS and Birkenhead top North Island Schools PDF Print E-mail

Birkenhead College's Team Haynes and Epsom Girls Grammar School's Team Sophie were the winners of the recent 2014 North Island Secondary Schools Curling Championships at Paradice Avondale.

The Epsom Girls winners Sophie Tran, Claire Crooks, Anna Parsons and Jaden Godfrey won the first four ends of their final against schoolmates EGGS Benedict (Bethany Carter, Hannah Macpherson, Snigdha Saha and Gillean Miller), and were never headed.

NZ sides named for Pacific-Asia CCs PDF Print E-mail
pin nz_curling

The New Zealand Curling Association has confirmed the National Women's and Men's teams for November's 2014 Pacific-Asia Curling Championships in Karuizawa, Japan. The teams are:

Men: Scott Becker (Ranfurly), Kenny Thomson (Auckland), Rupert Jones (Dunedin), Warren Dobson (Mt Ida). Fifth player to be confirmed.
Women:  Chelsea Farley, Thivya Jeyaranjan, Waverley Taylor, Eleanor Adviento, Tessa Farley (all Auckland)
South Island gold to OGHS and Maniototo PDF Print E-mail
2014 South Island Schools Curling Championship

Otago Girls High School and Maniototo Area School are the South Island Secondary School Curling Champions teams for 2014.

Simon Neilson, Josh Whyte, Matthew Neilson and Ben Smith – winners of the NZ Under-21 title just a month ago – dominated the Boy's competition, winning all of their games at Dunedin Ice Stadium convincingly last weekend.

The Otago Girls side of Emma Sutherland, Mhari-Bronte Duncan, Heloise Fitzpatrick and Diana Yeritsyan reversed the result of the 2013 final to beat Maniototo in the gold medal match.

A Stunning Day - Curling at Altitude PDF Print E-mail
National Junior sides named PDF Print E-mail
nz u21_pin

The New Zealand selectors have confirmed and announced the NZ Junior (Under-21) teams to contest the Pacific-Asia Junior Curling Championships in Naseby in January 2015. The teams are:

Junior Men: Simon Neilson, Luke Steele, Josh Fogo, Matthew Neilson, Josh Whyte (all Maniototo)
Junior Women:  Eleanor Adviento and Waverley Taylor (Auckland), Kelsi Heath (Dunedin), Jessica Smith and Holly Thompson (Maniototo)
<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 14

Cooneys Clothing & Footwear, apparel supplier to NZ Curling teams
Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter

Funding Support

Lion Foundation
NZ Community Trust
Pub Charity
Otago Community Trust
ASB Community Trust
Auckland Council
Sport New Zealand

Website support

NZ Curling thanks 4success for generous support with website development
Professional Website
Design and Development

NZ Curling is grateful to 4success and to Face Ltd for their generous website support

NZ Curling thanks Face Limited for its generous support with website hosting