New Zealand Curling

  • Decrease font size
  • Default font size
  • Increase font size
Auckland Curling

Auckland Curling

Auckland Curling

    •  Auckland Club league May-October
  •  Sign up or find out more
  •  Club calendar
  •  Contact us –  This e-mail address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it

We play Sunday evenings at Paradice Avondale from May through until October.
New members – regular or occasional – are always welcome! 

No club curling Sunday 5th or 19th July; club nights 28th June, 12th & 26th July

Try Curling in Auckland PDF Print E-mail
Wednesday, 22 April 2015 07:00
2015 auck have a go

2 Apr 2015 – Aucklanders will have two opportunities to try the world's fastest-growing Winter Olympic sport when Auckland Curling has two open "Have a Go" sessions in early May.

The two sessions will be held at Paradice Ice Rink in Avondale on the Sunday evenings of 3rd May and 10th May.

"It doesn't matter if you've never been on the ice before," said Auckland Curling President Ian Ford. "We will give you an introduction to curling, show and teach you the basics, and then you'll play your first game – all within your two-hour lesson."

"We will supply all of the curling gear. All you need are comfortable clothes that you can stretch out in – layers are a good idea – and clean, flat-soled footwear. Sports shoes are ideal. Some people like a beanie to keep their head warm."

Auckland International Cultural Festival PDF Print E-mail

Great turn out today at the Auckland Cultural Festival. Thanks to all the volunteers who helped rain and shine and to Auckland City Council for inviting us.

Posted by Auckland Curling on Saturday, 28 March 2015
A Curling Rink for Auckland PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 12 March 2015 21:00
Read the full feasibility study

15 Mar 2015 – Auckland Curling needs your help to make a submission to Council's 10 Year Plan for a curling rink in our city to become a reality. We need a place to build.

Submissions close at 4pm this Monday 16 March. Read more below to see how to make a submission.

A feasibility study into a combined ice and indoor sports complex on Auckland's North Shore has just been completed. This report was largely funded by an Auckland Council grant to Auckland Curling, acting on behalf of the Harbour Ice and Indoor Sports Stadium group.

The report identifies a way for Auckland Curling to establish a dedicated curling rink in the city with minimum capital outlay, working in conjunction with Council and WCF.

Auckland Curling Club AGM PDF Print E-mail
Sunday, 01 March 2015 12:00

Auckland Curling Club – Annual General Meeting 2015

Auckland CC logo

Venue:  Sport Auckland, Alexandra Park, Green Lane
Date: Sunday 15 March 2015
Time: 6:15pm for pizza, AGM starts 7:00pm
Cleansweep win Auckland Final PDF Print E-mail
Monday, 13 October 2014 18:30
Cleansweep, Auckland Curling 2014 champions
2014 Auckland champions Cleansweep
Photo: Liz Matthews / Auckland CC

13 Oct 2014 – The Cleansweep side of Chelsea Farley, Thivya Jeyaranjan, Tessa Farley, Ryan Lewis and Eleanor Adviento were rewarded for their consistency when they won the 2014 Auckland Premier League. They beat Liz Matthews' Thistles 7-4 in Sunday's Grand Final.

The result was earned after three top-four finishes for the side in the last 4 years, including topping the preliminary round last year and a runner-up finish in 2010.

It was the best possible end to the domestic season for the Farley sisters, Jeyaranjan and Adviento before they and Waverley Taylor represent their country at next month's Pacific-Asia Curling Championships.

Stonehenge win back-to-back U21 PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 04 October 2014 13:00
Auckland Under-21 winners
Ben Frew, Garion Long and Matt Hohaia
Photo: Liz Matthews / Auckland CC

4 Oct 2014 – The Stonehenge side of Garion Long, Ben Frew and Matt Hohaia backed up their 2013 Auckland Under-21 victory when they won the 2014 final against Team Adviento last weekend.

Both sides had beaten Team Sugimara in the round robin to set up the decider. They came into the final on 28 September straight after a club game in the early session at Paradice Avondale.

Team Adviento started the better of the two sides with singles in the first two ends, but a 4 to Stonehenge in the next saw them take a lead that they did not relinquish. The teams shook hands with the scoreline at 7-2.

Taylors win Auckland Mixed Doubles PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 27 September 2014 12:30
Auckland Mixed Doubles final
Matt Hohaia watches as Peter and Glenys Taylor follow their stone in the final - Photo: Liz Matthews / Auckland CC

27 Sep 2014 – Glenys and Peter Taylor won their second Auckland Mixed Doubles Championship with a 6-1 win over the young brother / sister team of Matt and Victoria Hohaia in the 2014 final.

They Taylors scored singles in the first three ends before their opponents got one back in the fourth. But it was all over in next, a 3-pointer being to much too come back from in a 6 end match. The Taylors first won the title in 2008.

Twelve teams started the championship on 7th September. Auckland's shortage of available ice time forced an abbreviated preliminary round, with all teams playing three 4-end games in the one evening.

TTCF Grant for Auckland Curling PDF Print E-mail
Thursday, 25 September 2014 08:50
The Trusts Community Foundation

25 Sep 2014 – The Auckland Curling Club is pleased to announce that The Trusts Community Foundation has provided a generous grant of $5,000 to help fund ice rink rental fees for the Auckland Club and Secondary Schools Curling League games. The grant is helping us to increase participation in the sport by providing opportunities for interested community members of all ages and experience levels to participate.

The Trusts Community Foundation distributes funds to organisations that promote community wellbeing, education, the arts, preservation of our environment and heritage, amateur sport and recreation.

Please join us in thanking The Trusts Community Foundation for helping the Auckland Curling Club to continue providing the benefits of participation in the sport of curling to the Auckland community.

Olympic Celebration Tour with Cheryl Bernard PDF Print E-mail
Saturday, 15 March 2014 12:57
Cheryl Bernard

15 Mar 2014 – Auckland Curling ran three fantastic "have a go" sessions in early March, hosted by 2010 Canadian skip Cheryl Bernard and her husband Terry Meek. Cheryl and her team won Olympic silver in Vancouver four years ago, while Terry is a leading coach and 2009 World Men's gold medallist.

The three sessions for club and media, public and schools were a part of the World Curling Federation's Olympic Celebration Tour. All were well-attended by very enthusiastic current and potential curlers, and made for a great introduction to Summer leagues for new curlers in the period through until Easter.

See our Facebook page for plenty of pictures from the three sessions.

<< Start < Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 Next > End >>

Page 1 of 6

Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter

Entries Open

North Island Schools
Auckland, 31 Aug-3 Sept

South Island Schools
Dunedin, 4-6 September
Entries close Fri 25 July

Icebreaker Bonspiel
Dunedin, 19-20 September

New Zealand Schools
Auckland, 26-28 September

Auckland Curling Newsletter

Get the latest news from Auckland Curling delivered to your Inbox - subscribe to our newsletter.

We won't share your email address with anyone.

See latest newsletters – 2015


Download our 2 page A4 brochure for an introduction to curling in Auckland.

Auckland Big End Award



 Round 1

Funding Support

The Trusts Community Foundation
Lion Foundation
NZ Community Trust
Pub Charity
Otago Community Trust
foundation north logo
Auckland Council
Sport New Zealand

Website support

NZ Curling is grateful to 4success for their website support

NZ Curling thanks 4success for generous support with website development
Professional Website
Design and Development