2019 Auckland Big End Award

Previous winners

 7 My Name is Curl Round 2 End 2 26 May
 4  Ice Maidens Round 1 End 1 19 May
Hacked Off Round 1 End 2 19 May
Winging It Round 1 End 2 19 May
Thistles Round 1 End 3 19 May
Stonehenge Round 1 End 4 19 May
Stonehenge Round 1 End 6 19 May
Icy Death Round 2 End 1 26 May

What is the Big End Award?


The purpose of the Big End Award is to encourage and recognise High Level Strategy and Execution during a game and to add another level of friendly competition into the Auckland Curling Club.

It is to honour the fact that an Eight Point End is a rarer achievement than a Hole in One in Golf!

The Big End Award will be awarded to the teams that achieve a High End Score during any Auckland Curling Club competition.

It is to be restarted at the beginning of each season.


It is to be awarded according to the following criteria:

  1. The first Award will be given to the Team that gets the best end points in the first round of competition.  If two teams achieve the same result, then it will be awarded to the team that scores first. ie. In the earliest end.  End 1 in both draws will be considered the same so as to not disadvantage the late games.
  2. Teams will then be required beat the existing High End Record to receive the award.  The timing rule above also applies.
  3. Any Team that scores 7 or 8 will automatically receive an award.


The Award will be announced at the club during the notices and acknowledged on the website and in the periodic newsletters.

At the end of season prize giving, the Team/s that have achieved the highest Big End Award for the season will be acknowledged.

All teams that achieve a 7 or higher will receive an award.