Back-to-back Auckland titles for Stonehenge

2019 Auckland Spirit of Curling Award winner, Iain Craig 2019 Auckland Curling Promotion and Development Award winner, Liz Matthews
Iain Craig with the Spirit of Curling cup (L) and Liz Matthews, Promotion and Development award

17 Oct 2019 – Stonehenge backed up their 2018 success when they won the Auckland Curling League final against top qualifiers My Name is Curl last weekend.

Both teams were playing without their regular thirds, as Benjamin Frew (Stonehenge) and Kieran Ford were on international duty for NZ at the World Mixed Championship in Aberdeen.

After the Stonehenge trio of Garion Long, Kieran Grieve and Rebecca Treacy conceded a single in the first end, they got their noses in front with a double in the second and followed that up with a steal in the next.

They then sat with 4 well-guarded shots when opposing skip Brett Sargon lined up the final stone of the fourth end, but he was unable to thread it through the defensive wall of granite. That steal of 4 gave Stonehenge an insurmountable lead, and they went on to win 8-4.

Rockers beat Thistles 9-2 in the A Division playoff for third.

Calum Jacobs, Jordan Atutahi, Allan Barclay and Logan Barclay won the B Division without needing to play the final as their scheduled opponents Icy Death had other commitments for the weekend. Winging It beat Hacked off in the third-place match,

The Penguins side of Sasha Goloborodko, Nikita Derevianko, Ed McLain and Jane McLain headed Plan B 5-3 in the C Division final, with Rock Slide taking third.

The D Division went to the first-year Break the Ice team of Josh Eyre, Kieran Croxton, Lisa Douglas and Toni Snell by 5-4 over Ice Maidens, and Break the Ice filled the third spot.

The A Division runners-up My Name is Curl – Brett Sargon, Kieran Ford, Kate Smirnova, Ryan Lewis and Alex Keall – took home the Big End Award for their 7-point end in the second round. Their 11-2 win-loss record in the league also won them the Round Robin Winners trophy.

Other club awards were presented at the prizegiving. Rhys Greensill and Alex Keall shared the Rookie of the Year award, Brogan Powlesland was selected as Most Improved Curler, and the Ice Maidens were named Team of the Year.

Three categories were voted for by Club members. Liz Matthews won the Development and Promotion Award, Benjamin Frew was Coach of the Year, and the Spirit of Curling Cup was presented to Iain Craig.



Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter

Entries Open

Training Camp
Naseby, 13-14 July
Apply by Fri 2 July

NZ Mixed Doubles Qualifier
Naseby, 29 July-1 August
Entries close Fri 9 July

NZ Juniors (U21)
Naseby, 3-5 September
Entries close Fri 13 August

NZ Seniors
Dunedin, 10-12 September
Entries close Fri 20 August


Auckland Curling Newsletter

Get the latest news from Auckland Curling delivered to your Inbox - subscribe to our newsletter.

We won't share your email address with anyone.

See latest newsletters – 2020