Team Farley wins close Auckland U21s for 2009

8 Dec 2009 – For the second time in three years the Auckland Under-21 Curling title was decided by a draw to the button. Three teams were locked at the top of the leaderboard at the conclusion of the final round at Paradice Avondale last Sunday evening.

Auckland Curling, hampered by the usual twin constraints of ice availablity and cost, was unable to schedule playoff rounds for the tournament so the "sudden death" method was employed after Team Farley, Team Lambert and Team Pearson all won two of their three round robin games.

Thivya Jeyaranjan, third for Team Farley, triumphed in the battle of skill and nerve as her stone came to rest less than half a metre from the tee.

Team Lambert were next best to take the runner-up spot and Team Pearson third. Fourth were Team Kwon, unlucky to not take at least a point off the winning Team Farley in their final pool match.

Final Standings

 1*   Chelsea Farley, Thivya Jeyaranjan, Tessa Farley, Emily Whelan
 2*   Nick Lambert, Katie Bauer, Brittany Taylor, Kieran Ford
 3*   Keswick Pearson, Brett Sargon, Matt Clemett, Dean D'Cruz, Nathan Mahoney
 4    Jina Kwon, Sam Leong, Susie Yang
 * Draw to the button used to rank teams equal on points

Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter

Entries Open

Training Camp, all levels
Naseby, 7-8 July
Apply by Fri 26 June

NZ Seniors
Dunedin, 11-13 September
Entries close Fri 3 July