St Johns win 2010 Wendorf

St Johns looking for guidance
St Johns looking for guidance

17 Sep 2010 – St John's Primary School in Ranfurly may be surprised to learn that it has just won its first significant curling title.

Four former pupils – Warren Kearney, Kris Miller, Sam Miller and Tim Miller – adopted both the name of their first school as a team name and their old school tops as a team uniform when they won Dunedin's Wendorf Bonspiel, held 10-12 September at the Caversham Trust Curling Rink .

Although the bonspiel was very social off the ice, it couldn't have been more competitive on it. The 8 teams entered played six games in pool play, and after the last round no fewer than 5 of them were in a logjam at the top of the leaderboard with a 4 win – 2 loss record.

A draw to the button tiebreak was used to determine the rankings, with two stones delivered by each team and the total distance measured.

It was St John's and Reece Aiken's local team that came out on top so they contested the Final for the Wendorf Rock, won 5-3 by St John's.

Charlie McLeod beat Brydie Donald for 3rd, John Campbell took 5th ahead of Al Langille, and CanAmeriKiwis recorded their first win of the weekend when they headed off Gore CC for 7th.

St John's skip Warren Kearney said his team improved after a slow start to the bonspiel. "We didn't start the competition well, losing our first two games to Al from Auckland then Charlie from Dunedin, after that we started to play better and won our remaining 5 games."

"In the 3 games on Sunday the team clicked very well and played some great shots; consistency on Sunday was the difference compared to Friday and Saturday's games. Catholics on Sundays are tough to beat!"

St Johns, winners of the 2010 Wendorf Bonspiel
The winning St John's team L-R: Tim Miller, Kris Miller, Warren Kearney, Sam Miller

Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter