2008 Wendorf Bonspiel

13 Jul 2008 – The 2008 Wendorf Bonspiel was held at the Dunedin Ice Stadium this weekend. Curlers from Central Otago, Dunedin, Gore and Auckland were represented in the eight teams that competed, with the local team skipped by Dan Mustapic winning the Wendorf Rock.

Finals Round results

 1st  Dan Mustapic   9 - 0   Peter Becker  2nd 
 3rd    Hans Frauenlob   7 - 4   Alexandra CC  4th 
 5th  Bydie Donald   10 - 4   Charlie Mcleod    6th 
 7th  Gore CC   8 - 5   Auckland CC  8th 
2006 Wendorf Bonspiel winers     Dan Mustapic (left), skip of the winning team, and Edwin Harley, lead


Earlier article

All teams will play 8 games. A full round robin will be followed by a final round where the two top qualifiers will play off for the title. There will also be playoffs for 3rd/4th, 5th/6th and 7th/8th.

The first game gets under way at 2pm on Friday 11 July, and allowance has been made in the tournament schedule for the other major sporting event in Dunedin over the weekend - the All Blacks play the Springboks in the second Tri-Nations test at Carisbrook on Saturday night.

Teams will play 3 games on both Saturday and Sunday, with the finals scheduled to finish around 4:30pm on Sunday.

Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter