Kiwis retain 2008 Trans Tasman Trophy

24 Jun 2008 – Local teams again proved too strong for the Aussies, with Peter Becker's team winning the final of the Earnslaw One Trans Tasman against the previously unbeaten four skipped by his son Sean.

The Earnslaw One Trans Tasman Tournament is an "unofficial" international curling tournament held annually between teams from New Zealand and Australia.

Two visiting Queensland teams took to the ice against five local teams. Sean Becker was unbeaten in pool play with 6 wins. Peter Becker and Darren Carson had 4 apiece, with Kris Miller (3 wins) taking the fourth semi-final spot.

In the semis, Sean Becker had a 8-6 win over Miller and Peter Becker prevailed 7-3 against Carson. The unbeaten run of Sean Becker ended in the final though, when his father's team upset most predictions to triumph 9-7. Miller headed off Carson 8-2 in the playoff for 3rd and 4th.

NZ teams have now won all four of these annual contests.