Naseby Council – Baxter Cup

The Baxter Cup is the major trophy of the Naseby Curling Council, contested by all teams in the Council. It is awarded to the winner of a one day event that must be played on natural ice, and is called only in years when conditions allow.

It is believed to be the oldest New Zealand sporting trophy still competed for in any sport. The Cup was originally donated to the Dunedin Curling Club by David Baxter, a founding member of the club who arrived in New Zealand in 1856 from Blairgrove, Perthshire. It was first played for in 1884 as the Club's points trophy.

Following the dissolution of the Club through lack of ice in 1895, the Baxter Cup was handed to the Otago Central club for competition against Mt Ida. The two clubs first played for the Cup in 1900 when it was won by Otago Central. It was later passed to the Naseby Curling Council for the winner of the Council's one day bonspiel.

Honours Boards – Naseby | All


Baxter Cup
Dunedin Curling Club – Points Trophy
 1884   First competition held
1895  Club wound up due to lack of ice
Otago Central CC v Mt Ida CC – Match winner
 Year Winner  
1900  Otago Central CC    
1908  Mt Ida CC    
Naseby Curling Council – One Day Bonspiel
Year Winner Runner Up Third
2001  Otago Central    
2006  Otago Central    
2007  Garibaldi  Otago Central  Windwhistle
2010  Otago Central (4W, 92pts)  Ranfurly (4W, 88pts)  
2016  Kyeburn (4W)  Mt Ida (3W)  


1908 Baxter Cup report from Otago Witness

Report from the Otago Witness, 5 August 1908, page 56

© National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Matauranga o Aotearoa

Retrieved from Papers Past