Team Frauenlob back up Seniors win

2015 NZ Senior Men's champions
L-R: Iain Craig, Lorne DePape, Dan Mustapic, Hans Frauenlob. Photo: Gillian Craig / NZCA

14 Sep 2015 – Hans Frauenlob and his team of Dan Mustapic, Lorne DePape and Iain Craig defended their 2014 NZ Senior Men's title when they won gold at the 2015 Championship in Naseby last weekend.

The 2015 World Senior Men's bronze medallists beat last year's runners up Peter Becker, Richard Morgan, Nelson Ede and John Sanders 9-4 in Sunday's final.

The three teams entered played a double round robin. In the first game on Friday afternoon, Peter Becker broke the deadlock against Ian Ford with his last stone of the sixth end. A superbly executed split on a guard a metre in front of the house scored his side the two points that eventually determined their 5-3 win.

Frauenlob's comfortable run through the preliminary round came to an abrupt halt in their second match against Team Becker. Frauenlob's final draw against two in the third end clipped a guard, and he found himself 2-5 behind. Becker went on to win the game 8-7 in an extra end, and the two sides qualified for the final with a 3 win - 1 loss record.

It was Frauenlob who dominated the early stages of the final before Becker took his opportunity to score three in the fourth end to trail by just one. The situation was reversed in the seventh end, Frauenlob taking his chance to hit for three and so secure the gold medal with a 9-4 win.

There was no Senior Women's competition. Liz Matthews and her 2014 champion side decided not to make the trip to Naseby when they found they had no opponent after entries closed.

In the next few weeks the NZ selectors will confirm the national sides for the 2016 World Senior Championships scheduled for Sweden in April.