Teams confirmed for Europe

Sport Palace, Kazan
World Mixed Championship venue, the Sport Palace in Kazan, Russia. Photo © WCF

1 Aug 2016 – New Zealand's Curling selectors have confirmed the national sides to compete at the World Mixed and the World Junior B Curling Championships in Europe during the coming international season.

Brett Sargon, Thivya Jeyaranjan, Kieran Ford and Emily Whelan will represent New Zealand at the 2016 World Mixed event in Kazan, Russia in mid-October. Whelan replaces Eleanor Adviento from the winning side at this year's NZ Championship, with the latter being unavailable because of University exams.

The 2017 World Junior B Championships will run in early January in Ostersund, Sweden. The New Zealand Men's side is Matthew Neilson, Simon Neilson, Ben Smith, Hamish Walker and Anton Hood. Jessica Smith, Holly Thompson, Emma Sutherland, Courtney Smith and Eloise Pointon make up the Women's team.

The top three men's and women's teams will qualify from this event for the WJCC 2017 in March.