Team Sargon repeat NZ Mixed win

2017 NZ Mixed Fours champions
2017 champions Kieran Ford, Eleanor Adviento, Brett Sargon and Thivya Jeyaranjan. Photo © NZ Curling / Liz Matthews

5 Jun 2017 – Brett Sargon, Eleanor Adviento, Kieran Ford and Thivya Jeyaranjan backed up their 2016 NZ Mixed Fours title by winning this year's championship in Auckland during Queen's Birthday Weekend.

They headed off five challengers at Auckland's Paradice Avondale rink, but didn't have it all their own way.

The limited ice time available to Auckland Curling meant that the tournament format did not allow extra ends to break a tie, and Team Sargon drew their first game with Garion Long's four.

Another of the opening round games between Iain Craig and Liz Matthews was also drawn, while the remaining Glenys Taylor v Rachel Pirie clash resulted in a one point win to the latter.

Sargon admitted their team had gone into the early-season event with little preparation, and also struggled in their second pool match before starting to find some form in the next.

Unlike many of the early rounds, results in Monday's playoff matches were more clear cut.

In the semi-finals Team Sargon had a 10-1 win over Team Matthews, and Team Craig saw off Team Long 7-2.

Sargon took the gold medal match 10-1, and Long secured the bronze with an 8-1 victory.