Team Frauenlob work for Seniors win

2019 NZ Senior Men's Championship winners
L-R Iain Craig, Dave Watt, Dan Mustapic and Hans Frauenlob

8 Sep 2019 – Hans Frauenlob, Dan Mustapic, Dave Watt and Iain Craig went undefeated to win the NZ Senior Men's Curling Championship in Dunedin over the weekend, but they had to work for their win.

In a tournament of two halves they were untroubled to win their first two games in the three-team competition. But both opponents picked up their game to push Team Frauenlob all the way in the second half of the double round robin.

Kenny Thomson, Phil Dowling, Dean Fotti and Ian Ford put 3 on the board in the second end to take an early lead, and Team Frauenlob didn't get their noses in front until they scored 3 with a measure in the seventh.

Needing two to force an extra end in the eighth, Kenny Thomson's stone for the tie came up only fractionally short, giving Frauenlob a 7-6 win.

The Frauenlob side couldn't find a shot in the first half of their next game, and were looking down the barrel of a 6-0 deficit against Dave Greer, Dick Morgan, Nelson Ede and John Sanders at the fourth end break.

The fifth end was an absolute ripper, and with just the skips' last stones to come Frauenlob was holding four, seemingly well guarded. But Dave Greer played one of the shots of the weekend with angled double raise. When the dust had settled, his stone was on sitting on top of a Frauenlob shot on the button.

It was Frauenlob's turn to impress with his last stone and he didn't disappoint, coming in off his own stone in the wings to pick the Greer stone out cleanly and score four.

That shot turned the game on its head, and Team Frauenlob struck a vein of form to run their opponents out of stones in the last end and record a remarkable 8-6 victory.

Kenny Thomson's side went on to comfortably win the playoff for second over Team Greer.

Liz Matthews, Jo Olszewski, Pauline Farra and Gillian Craig won the Women's title as the only entrants, and used their ice time for training and non-competition games.

The winning sides will be joined by Lorne DePape and Sandra Thomas as New Zealand's representatives at next April's World Senior Championships in Kelowna, British Columbia, Canada.