Close contests at NZ Junior Champs

2020 NZ Junior Women champions
Junior Women champions L-R: Grace Apuwai-Bishop (skip), Savannah Cumming, Temika Apuwai-Bishop, Lucy Neilson. Photo © Janyne Fletcher

22 Oct 2021 –Seven teams contested a tightly fought NZ Junior Championship over the last weekend of October at MCI Naseby. The opening game set the tone for the rest of the tournament when the eventual Men's winners stole an extra end win.

In the true Spirit of Curling, each team was made up of a range of ages and abilities with more experienced curlers spread out among the younger players.

This made for a great competition with some very close games that were down to the last stone. All competitors should feel proud of their efforts and skills demonstrated over the weekend.

Hunter Walker, Jayden Apuwai-Bishop, Keith Clearwater and Matthew Lunam went on to win the Men's gold medal ahead of Sam Flanagan's rink. In the Women's final Grace Apuwai-Bishop, Lucy Neilson, Temika Apuwai-Bishop and Savannah Cummings headed off Zoe Harman's Maniototo Area School team.

The 2021 NZ Junior (Under-21) teams were announced at the conclusion of the tournament. Although New Zealand are unfortunately not sending a team to the World event in Finland due to Covid, congratulations to the following curlers who are nonetheless our national sides this year:

NZ Junior Men: Hunter Walker, Jayden Apuwai-Bishop, William Becker, Sam Flanagan, Hunter Burke.

NZ Junior Women: Grace Apuwai-Bishop, Temika Apuwai-Bishop, Zoe Harman, Lucy Neilson, Rachael Pitts.

Many thanks to Janyne Fletcher Photography for the images below.