Battle for Under-21 gold after camp

2013 NZ Under-21 Championships

22 Jul 2013 – Last week's Junior curling camp at the Maniototo curling International rink in Naseby was followed by the NZ Under-21 Curling Championships.

The Women's gold medal was won by Eleanor Adviento, Waverley Taylor, Brittany Taylor, Tessa Farley and Eloise Pointon. The Men's honours went to the hometown side of Andrew Scott, Simon Neilson, Josh Whyte, Rueben Pyle and Matthew Neilson.

In the women's draw Holly Thompson's team took the first match in the 'best of five' competition. But as Eleanor's team adjusted to the ice conditions they began to dominate proceedings, running out winners by 3 games to 1.

The Auckland team demonstrated the benefit of experience accumulated during the players' longer involvement with the sport. However Holly's side certainly showed ability and played well enough to show that they will be serious title contenders in the future.

The pool that included the Men's teams and Willie Miller's mixed team was dominated by Willie's more experienced side, although they weren't eligible to win a medal by virtue of the mixed gender make-up of their team.

During the round robin games the steams of Garion Long and Andrew Scott hd a win apiece from their two encounters.

It was one-way traffic in the game that mattered though, when the Maniototo side who proved to be convincing winners. They brought together a game they had threatened throughout the tournament and made most of their shots, putting a lot of pressure on Team Long. The latter team had one of 'those' games that all sides experience occasionally, and the players shook hands after seven ends.

Chief Umpire Murray Petherick had a rink-side view of the tournament, and he reported matches played in the best curling traditions, good spirit by all teams, and a pleasure to be involved with. Players can look forward to many well contested games with and against each other in the future.


Thanks to Murray Petherick and Dianna Whyte for the images