Brydie Donald
Brydie Donald won her first National title as skip

4 Jul 2011 – The pre-tournament favorites won the Men's and Women's titles at the 2011 NZ Open Curling Championships in Dunedin this month, but they had to work hard for them.

Brydie Donald's side trailed for much of the match before stealing an extra end win over Wendy Becker's Senior Women's team.

On the neighbouring sheet, Peter de Boer's composite squad pushed Sean Becker all the way before the latter took his 5th consecutive national title.

26 Jun 2011 – The best traditions of curling – great camaraderie and sportsmanship – were celebrated in Otago in late June during New Zealand Curling's 125th Jubilee. These traditions were continued throughout the 2011 NZ Under-21 Curling Championships said Darren Carson, the Chief Umpire.

He congratulated the two Women's and three Men's sides on their consistently high standard of play while contesting a close tussle for the titles in Naseby from Friday 22 to Sunday 24 June.

2011 NZ Mixed Fours winners
Winners Pauline Farra, Liz Matthews, Kenny Williamson, Ian Ford

7 Jun 2011 – The first national title of the season was decided when the 2011 New Zealand Mixed Fours Championship was held in Auckland during Queen's Birthday Weekend.

It was an all-Auckland affair as Kenny Williamson's team of Liz Matthews, Ian Ford and Pauline Farra won the Kath Thomas trophy, beating the Hard Yards side of Al Langille, Glenys Taylor, Peter Taylor and Miriam Tackoor in the final.

7 May 2011 – The World Curling Federation has advised that the 2012 World Seniors Curling Championships and the 2012 World Mixed Doubles Curling Championship will be held in April 2012, instead of November 2012 as previously advised.

Accordingly, the NZ Curling Association is seeking self-nominations from athletes who wish to be considered for selection for the NZ teams to compete at these championships. The closing date for self-nominations for these two events is Sunday 22 May 2011.

Sean and Bridget Becker in action v Sweden
Mixed Doubles, NZ v Sweden in St Paul. Photo © WCF / Leslie Ingram-Brown

24 Apr 2011 - The Swiss Mixed Doubles team and the Canadian Men's and Women's Senior teams took the gold medals at their respective 2011 World Championships in St Paul, Minnesota during the weekend.

The winning sides all dominated their respective events and were unbeaten throughout the week.

The Senior Men's team skipped by Peter Becker was the best-performed NZ team in St Paul, reaching the playoff rounds for the first time and finishing 6th overall.

The Kiwi Senior Women were 9th, and the Mixed Doubles 14th after a poor start to their week.

27 Nov 2010 – Nelson Ede, the Development Officer at Maniototo Curling International, is investigating the possibility of a National Curling League for the 2011 season.

"Currently, there are few opportunities for NZ curlers to play outside their regular leagues," he says. "Dunedin hosts the Wendorf and, for the first time last year, their summer spiel. And that's all there is apart from the Nationals."

"If we want to improve the skills and depth of curling in New Zealand, then our athletes need regular competition against the best in the country."

NZ Men v Australia
Kenny Thomson and Warren Dobson are all concentration on Warren Kearneys' stone

23 Nov 2010 – New Zealand will be coming home empty-handed from the 2010 Pacific Curling Championships in Korea.

Following their semifinal losses yesterday to dash hopes of 2011 World Championship qualification, both NZ teams lost their bronze medal matches today – the Men to Australia and the Women to Japan.

The Kiwi women held their own for much of the match against the favoured Japanese, but a triple to Japan in the 5th end did the damage to NZ and they went down 4-7.

The National Selectors stuck with a winning formula when they announced the New Zealand Under-21 Curling teams at the conclusion of the National Training camp in Naseby this week.

The Men's team that won the recent NZ U-21 championship (Sam Miller, Michael Smith, Willie Miller, Liam Dowling and Tim McMillan) was confirmed as the National Men's team. The winning Women's team of Chelsea Farley, Thivya Jeyaranjan, Tessa Farley and Emily Whelan will be joined by Katie Bauer, who is also in the Open Women's team.

A deciding match was required in the best-of-three finals of the 2010 Pub Charity NZ Mixed Doubles Championship, decided at Naseby 17-19 September.

Defending champions Sean and Bridget Becker came back from one down to defeat the tough challenge of Dan Mustapic and Brydie Donald. The contest was a genuine nail-biter from start to finish – the first two games of the finals were single-point margins, and the decider came down to the last stone.