Girls winners Maniototo Area School
Girls winners Maniototo Area School - Lucy Neilson, Courtney Smith, Tash Whyte, Anna Clarke. Photo Dianna Whyte / NZCA

27 Sep 2016 – The top Boys and Girls teams from Maniototo Area School showed their class at the recent New Zealand Secondary School Championships, winning both titles on home ice at Maniototo Curling International in Naseby.

The Maniototo Boys #1 team did not have everything their own way. Hamish Walker's strong Otago Boys High School side opened up a five point lead after four ends of their round robin match and continued to win 6-5. Both teams were unbeaten through the rest of the preliminary round, so OBHS went into the final as top seeds.

2015 Girls champions OGHS
2015 Girls champions Otago Girls High School, L-R: Michelle Bong, Diana Yeritsyan, Emma Sutherland, Mhairi-Bronté Duncan, Heloise Fitzpatrick

29 Sep 2015 – The Otago Girls High School curling team of Emma Sutherland, Mhairi-Bronté Duncan, Heloise Fitzpatrick, Diana Yeritsyan and Michelle Bong backed up their 2014 NZ Secondary Schools Curling Championship title with a 9-6 win in the final of this year's event in Auckland

Silver went to the novice Epsom Girls Grammar side of Renee Zhang, Toshiko Frederiksens, Sanchita Vyas and Shreya Raniga, the top qualifiers after a 3-1 win-loss record in the round robin.

OGHS had completed the round robin with the same 2-2 record as EGGS Sophie and Maniototo Area School, but qualified for the final by virtue of a marginally superior average draw shot distance. Their 144.5 cm was only just ahead of the 144.8 cm recorded by the EGGS team.

EGGS Sophie 2015
EGGS Sophie added the Auckland title to their North Island win earlier in the month

25 Sep 2015 – Birkenhead College, Epsom Girls Grammar and Lynfield College took home the major trophies after the final round of the 2015 Auckland Secondary Schools Curling Championshipa at Paradice Avondale last night.

EGGS Sophie and EGGS Benedict were locked at 5-5 going into the last end of the Girls Final. Sophie Tran, Anna Parson, Jaden Godfrey, Claire Crooks and Alyse Johnson handled the pressure to score three and claim the title..

10 Sep 2015 – Emma Sutherland played the shot of the weekend with the last stone of the tournament to win the 2015 South Island Secondary Schools Curling Championship for her Otago Girls High School team, with teammates Mhairi-Bronté Duncan, Heloise Fitzpatrick, Diana Yeritsyan and Michelle Bong.

Holly Thompson and her Maniototo Area School side of Jessica Smith, Ashleigh Smith, Tash Whyte and Courtney Smith looked as if they had done enough to avenge their preliminary round loss to the Otago Girls side. As Sutherland came to play her final stone, Maniototo were sitting with a well guarded shot stone that would have broken the 5-5 deadlock, won them the game and the gold medal.

Congratulations to 2015 NISS champions EGGS Sophie (girls), Birkenhead Blue (boys) and Birkenhead Gold (mixed). Photos: Liz Matthews.

Posted by New Zealand Curling on Saturday, 12 September 2015

2014 NZ Secondary School Championships

30 Sep 2014 – Otago Girls High School and East Otago High School supplied the upset results on home ice to win the Girls' and Boys' finals of the 2014 NZ Secondary School Curling Championships in Dunedin early this week.

OGHS skip Emma Sutherland and her team of Mhairi-Bronté Duncan, Heloise Fitzpatrick, Diana Yeritsyan and Kelsie Mee lined up in the final against Holly Thompson's Maniototo Area School. MAS had recorded one-sided wins against all comers in their round robin games and semi-final.

But it was the Dunedin team who took the early advantage in the gold medal game, covering the pin with their pre-game draw shot and winning the first three ends to put the Maniototo team under unaccustomed pressure, and to take a lead that they did not relinquish. Maniototo replied with a single in the fourth end, but a double to Otago in the next was enough for them to secure their eventual 5-2 win.

Page 2 of 5