Back-to-back NZ School titles for OGHS

2015 Girls champions OGHS
2015 Girls champions Otago Girls High School, L-R: Michelle Bong, Diana Yeritsyan, Emma Sutherland, Mhairi-Bronté Duncan, Heloise Fitzpatrick

29 Sep 2015 – The Otago Girls High School curling team of Emma Sutherland, Mhairi-Bronté Duncan, Heloise Fitzpatrick, Diana Yeritsyan and Michelle Bong backed up their 2014 NZ Secondary Schools Curling Championship title with a 9-6 win in the final of this year's event in Auckland

Silver went to the novice Epsom Girls Grammar side of Renee Zhang, Toshiko Frederiksens, Sanchita Vyas and Shreya Raniga, the top qualifiers after a 3-1 win-loss record in the round robin.

OGHS had completed the round robin with the same 2-2 record as EGGS Sophie and Maniototo Area School, but qualified for the final by virtue of a marginally superior average draw shot distance. Their 144.5 cm was only just ahead of the 144.8 cm recorded by the EGGS team.

EGGS Sophie (Sophie Tran, Claire Crooks, Jaden Godfrey and Anna Parsons) had the consolation of winning the bronze medal match against Maniototo 12-5.

The 2014 Boy's finalists, East Otago High School and Maniototo Area School, lined up again for the 2015 gold medal. Defending champions East Otago had dominated the round robin to complete a clean sweep of their five preliminary games, while Maniototo's form had fluctuated.

The Maniototo side of Josh Whyte, Ben Smith, Anton Hood, Dylan Voice and Emmett Dowling evidently saved their best form for the final, clearing out for a 14-1 victory. East Otago's Cameron Bartrum, Liam McKenzie, Bob Martin and Josh Ollerenshaw had to settle for the silver.

The bronze medal game was won by the novice Papatoetoe High School team of Sharad Singh, Jack Shimmin, Ricardo Guillard and Jarod Greenbury, 11-7 over Birkenhead College Blue.

Mixed champions were Birkenhead College Black (Eloise Pointon, Kurt Haynes, Hadassah Moreton, Abhishek Rughani) who beat their schoolmates BC Gold 7-4 in their final.

Previous Back-to-back NZSS winners

(Majority of the team in both years)

   Boys Kelston Boys High School (2004-05), Otago Boys High School (2010-11)
  Girls  Birkenhead College (2002-03), Epsom Girls Grammar (2009-10)
  Mixed  None