Maniototo show their class at NZ Schools

Girls winners Maniototo Area School
Girls winners Maniototo Area School - Lucy Neilson, Courtney Smith, Tash Whyte, Anna Clarke. Photo Dianna Whyte / NZCA

27 Sep 2016 – The top Boys and Girls teams from Maniototo Area School showed their class at the recent New Zealand Secondary School Championships, winning both titles on home ice at Maniototo Curling International in Naseby.

The Maniototo Boys #1 team did not have everything their own way. Hamish Walker's strong Otago Boys High School side opened up a five point lead after four ends of their round robin match and continued to win 6-5. Both teams were unbeaten through the rest of the preliminary round, so OBHS went into the final as top seeds.

The roles were reversed in the final. Otago scored two with the hammer in the opening end, but Maniototo (Matthew Neilson, Ben Smith, Anton Hood and Peter Cheesmur) replied with a four-pointer and then two single steals to take control and went on to win 8-3.

Maniototo Boys #2 and John McGlashan College #1 played for the bronze medal, both qualifying with a 2 win - 3 loss record in the six team competition. Bailey Dowling's John McGlashan side reversed the result of their earlier meeting, opening with four consecutive doubles en route to a 10-2 victory.

The Maniototo Girls team, skipped by Youth Olympian Courtney Smith with Tash Whyte, Lucy Neilson and Anna Clarke, made no race of their competition. They comfortably won their four preliminary games but still saved their best for the final against Otago Girls High School. MAS scored two five-point ends on their way to a commanding 17-1 win.

Kavanagh College beat the only North Island team, Epsom Girls Grammar, 9-1 in the bronze medal match.

The Mixed competition was not contested this year.

Other 2016 School competitions