'Double double' for Lynfield at North Island Schools

2019 North Island School finals
Mt Roskill v Long Bay Black in the Boys' Final. Photo Auckland Curling / Liz Matthews

7 Sep 2019 – 7:00 am starts on the Monday and Wednesday mornings of Winter Tournament week did not deter the 12 teams who entered the North Island Secondary School Curling Championships this week.

After Thursday evening's finals, Lynfield College had achieved the 'double double' by winning the Mixed title to back up last year's success, just a week after completing the 2018 and 2019 double in the Auckland School finals.

Harsh Sharma, Rachel Barrowman, Elena Smith, Nene Matsuki and Giordi Gambassi finished at the head of the Mixed teams in the combined Boys / Mixed pool and then went on to beat Mt Albert Grammar 10-2 in their final.

The Girls championship was keenly contested, with draw shots needed to decide the playoff spots. 2018 champions Epsom Girls Knockout headed the round robin table with a 4 win, 1 loss record.

Tied for second behind them on 3-2 were Lynfield Red, Epsom Girls SCO and Long Bay Penguins. The three could not be separated on a head-to-head countback amongst the tied teams as they had won one game and lost the other against the other two sides.

So all players delivered a single stone, and the distances from the centre of the house were measured. After the worst result from each team was disregarded, Lynfield game out on top with an average draw shot distance of 133 cm, 21 cm better than EGGS and 45 cm ahead of Long Bay.

The EGGS Knockout side of Katrina Shepard, Jasman Vir Kaur, Shreya Nair and Imogen Wyers also made it back-to-back titles when they headed Lynfield 7-2 in their Girls Final. EGGS SCO won the playoff for third 10-5.

Long Bay College Black were unbeaten in pool play and went into their Boys' Final looking to be the third side to defend their 2018 title. However, their opponents, competition newcomers Mt Roskill Grammar, had other ideas.

Steals of two points in each of the fourth and seventh ends made the difference for the Mt Roskill side, earning Daniel Torrey, Youxiang Lei, Felix Dempsey, Pranav Rao and Owen Xu a North Island Championship at their first attempt.