South Island gold to OGHS and Maniototo

2014 South Island School Championships

25 Aug 2014 – Otago Girls High School and Maniototo Area School are the South Island Secondary School Curling Champions teams for 2014.

Simon Neilson, Josh Whyte, Matthew Neilson and Ben Smith – winners of the NZ Under-21 title just a month ago – dominated the Boy's competition, winning all of their games at Dunedin Ice Stadium convincingly last weekend.

The Otago Girls side of Emma Sutherland, Mhairi-Bronté Duncan, Heloise Fitzpatrick and Diana Yeritsyan reversed the result of the 2013 final to beat Maniototo in the gold medal match.

The Maniototo Girls side were also dominant throughout the preliminary stages, beating OGHS Sutherland 10-2 en route to a 5-0 clean sweep in the round robin. But Team Sutherland struck form in the game that counted, winning the first five ends to take the title 6-3.

Michelle Bong's OGHS #2 side won the bronze medal over St Hildas Collegiate (Jamie McKenzie) 10-1.

In the Boys competition, Otago Boys High School Jeff McAlpine lost just one round ronbin match, 14-2 to Neilson's Maniototo side. They were slightly closer at 9-2 in the final but still had to settle for silver. Josh Fogo's John McGlashan Red beat the East Otago High team of Geoff Bartrum 10-2 in the bronze medal match.