Otago Witness, 5 August 1908

Source: Papers Past, National Library of New Zealand Te Puna Matauranga o Aotearoa

Baxter Cup – Naseby Council

The Baxter Cup is the major trophy of the Naseby Curling Council, contested by all teams in the Council. It is awarded to the winner of a one-day event that must be played on natural ice, and can only be called only in years when conditions allow.

It is believed to be the oldest New Zealand sporting trophy still competed for in any sport.

The Cup was originally donated to the Dunedin Curling Club by David Baxter, a founding member of the club who arrived in New Zealand in 1856 from Blairgrove, Perthshire. It was first played for in 1884 as the Club's points trophy.

Following the dissolution of the Club through lack of ice in 1895, the Baxter Cup was handed to the Otago Central club for competition against Mt Ida. The two clubs first played for the Cup in 1900 when it was won by Otago Central. It was later passed to the Naseby Curling Council for the winner of the Council's one-day bonspiel.

Dunedin Curling Club – Points Trophy
1884First competition held
1895Club wound up due to a lack of ice

Otago Central CC v Mt Ida CC – Match Winner
 Year Winner
1900Otago Central
1908Mt Ida
Naseby Curling Council – One Day Bonspiel
 Year WinnerRunner UpThird

2001Otago Central

2006Otago Central

2007GaribaldiOtago CentralWindwhistle
2010Otago Central (4W, 92 pts)Ranfurly (4W, 88 pts)
2017Kyeburn (4W)Mt Ida (3W)