Stonehenge win 2015 Auckland championship

2015 Auckland champions Stonehenge

24 Oct 2015 – The Stonehenge side of Garion Long, Ben Frew, Kieran Grieve and Matt Hohaia won Auckland Curling's Premier League final last weekend.

They beat the House Crashers team of Kenny Williamson and Anthony Derrick, with spares Emily Whelan and Claire Suen filling in for regulars Allan Barclay and Logan Barclay.

The final went to an extra end when House Crashers stole 3 in the eighth end to level the scores at 10-10, but Stonehenge won the deciding end for their second trophy of the season. The side had won the round robin trophy two weeks earlier.

Liz Matthews' Thistles won the "A" Division playoff for third against Lorne DePape's Rock Squad 6-4.

The "B" Division title was won by John Allen's Diamonds, Chelsea Farley's Cleansweep won the "C" Dividion final, and the "D" Division title went to Peter Taylor's Hot Rollers.

Other Auckland titles were decided on Finals night.

Chelsea Farley and Ryan Lewis beat Rachel Pirie and Kenny Williamson 8-2 to win the 2015 Auckland Mixed Doubles Championship. Liz Matthews and Ian Ford headed Beth Gibbs and Ray Tomes in the bronze medal match.

Eloise Pointon's team beat Ben Frew's four in the last game of the Auckland Under-21 Championship round to leave them both level with the Birkenhead College Bacon team, all three sides recoding a win and a loss. The cancellation of two club nights in the last half of the season meant that there was no opportunity to play a decising round, so the title was shared by the three teams.

Club Awards

Other club awards were presented after the competition trophies.

   Spirit of Curling    Ian Ford
  Coach of the Year   Beth Gibbs, Kenny Williamson
  Development & Promotion   Liz Matthews, Beth Gibbs
  Most Improved Team   House Crashers
  Most Improved Player – Male   John Bennett
  Most Improved Player – Female   Sandra Thomas
  Most Improved Team   Icy Death



Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter

Entries Open

Training Camp, all levels
Naseby, 7-8 July
Apply by Fri 26 June

NZ Seniors
Dunedin, 11-13 September
Entries close Fri 3 July