Dunedin Curling Club

Dunedin Curling  
  Dunedin Curling plays on excellent, dedicated curling ice at Dunedin Ice Stadium, St Kilda. We offer  
  • leagues
  • learn-to-curl sessions
  • corporate / group events
  • or give it a go yourself, or with a friend

Dunedin Curling's website is undergoing maintenance. Please see the Dunedin Ice Stadium website.


2015 Summerspiel winners
Winners L-R: Simon Neilson, Dave Greer, Nelson Ede, Peter Becker

23 Feb 2015 – The summer bonspiel made a comeback at Dunedin Ice Stadium over the weekend.

The bonspiel is a relaxed event designed to bring curlers of all types and ages together and this year's event was described by organiser Dan Mustapic as a great success.

"It was good to see hack, stick and crampet curlers competing together, from Auckland, Wellington and the south" said Mustapic, a member of the New Zealand team that attended the 2006 Winter Olympics.

2012 Wendorf Bonspiel winners

1 Nov 2012 – Peter Becker already has his name on the Wendorf Rock Bonspiel trophy three times after wins in 1999, 2000 and 2007.

Last weekend he added 2012 to his great record, and skipped his teammates Dave Greer, John Sanders and Pat Cooney to their first Wendorf win in a tournament was, as usual, both competitive and enjoyable.

7 Nov 2011 – The NZ Women's team had a more than useful dress rehearsal for the upcoming Pacific-Asia Curling Championships when they won Dunedin's Wendorf Rock Bonspiel over the weekend of 5-6 November.

Chelsea Farley, Brydie Donald and Natalie Campbell – with John Campbell filling in at second for Thiya Jeyaranjan – beat the NZ Junior Men 6-2 in the final.

2011 Summer Spiel Winners
Winners Murray Petherick, Dan Thurlow, Natalie Campbell and John Campbell

6 Apr 2011 – Alexandra's Team Campbell comfortably won their second Dunedin Summer Spiel title during the last weekend of March.

Natalie Campbell, John Campbell, Murray Petherick and Dan Thurlow were the best all-round side, winning the curling competition and also performing well in the less-than-serious "alternate" events to finish with the lowest penalty points tally.

The seven teams enjoyed a very sociable weekend, mixing early-season curling with a range of entertaining events that tested their agility, imagination and adaptability.

St Johns looking for guidance
St Johns looking for guidance

17 Sep 2010 – St John's Primary School in Ranfurly may be surprised to learn that it has just won its first significant curling title.

Four former pupils – Warren Kearney, Kris Miller, Sam Miller and Tim Miller – adopted both the name of their first school as a team name and their old school tops as a team uniform when they won Dunedin's Wendorf Bonspiel, held 10-12 September at the Caversham Trust Curling Rink .

Dunedin Summer Spiel trophy
The Golden Jandal

30 Mar 2010 – Dunedin's first Summer Classic Spiel last weekend was voted a success by all who participated.

This was a two-part competition, comprising both curling and other on-ice and off-ice contests.

The Central Otago team skipped by John Campbell, with Natalie Campbell, Brydie Donald and Warren Kearney won both the curling competition and the overall title, and with it a trophy that is certain to be much sought-after in years to come.

21 Sep 2009 – A Dunedin home victory was assured in the final of this weekend's Wendorf Bonspiel as the teams took to the ice for the decider.

The local teams of Charlie McLeod and NZ skip Dan Mustapic qualified for the 1 vs 2 game at the top of the table, separated only by an extra-end 5-4 win to Mustapic in their fifth round pool match earlier in the day.

13 Jul 2008 – The 2008 Wendorf Bonspiel was held at the Dunedin Ice Stadium this weekend. Curlers from Central Otago, Dunedin, Gore and Auckland were represented in the eight teams that competed, with the local team skipped by Dan Mustapic winning the Wendorf Rock.

Find us on Facebook
Follow us on twitter

Entries Open

NZ Juniors (U21)
Naseby, 3-5 September
Entries close Fri 13 August

NZ Seniors
Dunedin, 10-12 September
Entries close Fri 20 August