2015 NZ Mixed Fours

2015 NZ Mixed Fours champions
2015 NZ Mixed Fours champions

5 June 2015 – Dave Watt, Thivya Jeyaranjan, Garion Long and Waverley Taylor claimed the first national title of 2015 when they won the NZ Mixed Fours Curling Championship at Paradice Avondale during Queen's Birthday Weekend.

They went through the tournament undefeated, winning all three of their pool games on the Sunday. Defending champion Iain Craig and his side were runners-up in the group, beaten only by the eventual winners.

The other group was headed by Kieran Ford's team with a 3-0 win-loss record, ahead of Chelsea Farley at 2-1.

In Monday morning's semi-finals the Chelsea Farley rink led the eventual winners coming into the last end, but Team Watt secured a 5 to take the match 9-6 and earn a place in the gold medal game.

Team Ford had a horror start in their semi and found themselves 1-7 down after 5 ends. They took deuces in the next two ends to come back to 5-7, but Iain Craig made no mistake in the last to score another 2 for a 9-5 win.

The gold medal match was effectively over almost as soon as it started after Watt leapt out to a 10-0 lead after just two ends. The sides shook hands after six ends with a final score of 15-5.

The bronze medal match was won 6-1 by Kieran Ford.

The New Zealand team for the first World Mixed Fours Curling Championship will be announced soon after the NZ Men's and Women's Championships in Naseby in early July. The World Mixed Fours will be held in Berne, Switzerland between 12 and 19 September.