Third Junior title for Neilson brothers

Team Hamish Walker
Team Walker in the opening round. Photo © Liz Matthews / NZCA

22 Jul 2016 – Simon and Matthew Neilson won their third New Zealand Under-21 Championship title in Dunedin last weekend.

They combined with Ben Smith and Josh Whyte for a 2-1 win in the best of three final series against Hamish Walker, Hunter Walker, Bailey Dowling and Luke Holden.

Jessica Smith, Holly Thompson and Eloise Pointon had their second consecutive national title, combining with Courtney Smith to win the Junior Women's gold medal.

  2016 NZ Junior Championships  

They beat the 2015 NZ Secondary Schools champion side of Emma Sutherland, Mhairi-Bronté Duncan, Heloise Fitzpatrick, Diana Yeritsyan and Michelle Bong 2-0 in their best-of-three series.

The two Women's and three Men's sides played a full Round Robin in the preliminary rounds, with results not considered for the Men's v Women's matches. The evenness of the Men's sides was such that the third placed side of Anton Hood, Josh Fogo, Jonah Tan lost their matches to the silver medallists by a single point, and to the eventual winners in an extra end.