NZ sides named for Pacific-Asia CCs

pin nz_curling

25 Aug 2014 – The New Zealand Curling Association has confirmed the National Women's and Men's teams for November's 2014 Pacific-Asia Curling Championships in Karuizawa, Japan. The teams are:

Men: Scott Becker (Ranfurly), Kenny Thomson (Auckland), Rupert Jones (Dunedin), Warren Dobson (Mt Ida). Fifth player to be confirmed.
Women:  Chelsea Farley, Thivya Jeyaranjan, Waverley Taylor, Eleanor Adviento, Tessa Farley (all Auckland)

Qualification for World Championships

The Pacific-Asia Championships are also qualifying events for the World Men's and Women's Curling Championships, where Olympic Qualifcation points can be earned.


The top two sides in Karuizawa will qualify for the World Men's Championships in Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada to be held between 28 March and 5 April 2015.


Japan will host the 2015 World Women's Championship in Sapporo, Hokkaido from 14 to 22 March. As hosts they will qualify automatically. The top-ranked side (other than Japan) from the PACCs will also qualify.