Frauenlob, Matthews win Seniors titles

2015 NZ Senior Mens champions
Hans Frauenlob, Dan Mustapic, Lorne DePape and Iain Craig

18 Sep 2014 – Hans Frauenlob skipped his side of Dan Mustapic, Lorne DePape and Iain Craig on an undefeated run through the 2014 NZ Senior Championships to win the Men's title.

For 2006 Olympians Frauenlob and DePape this was their third title in the 4 years the event has been run, while it was the second win for DePape.

The side won all of their round robin games comprehensively to qualify directly for the final, where they were taken to the last stone by Peter Becker's 2013 winners.

Frauenlob mised an opportunity to wrap the final up in the sixth end, when an attempted takeout jammed on a stone in the rear of the house. But made the critical shot in the final end to clear two of his opponent's three stones and score one for a 6-2 win.

In the semi-final between the second and thrird qualifiers, Team Peter Becker (with Dick Morgan, Nelson Ede and John Sanders) made a slow start after their opponents (Ian Ford, Paul Nelson, Peter Taylor and Earl Irving) stole the first two ends. But Becker drew the button when facing three in the third, and from there they never looked back as they took the game 9-3.

The Women's title went to Liz Matthews, Glenys Taylor, Pauline Farra and Christine Bewick for the third successive year. This year though they were the only Women's side to enter, so played non-competition games against all of the Men's sides in the round robin.