JFolder: :files: Path is not a folder. Path: /var/www/vhosts/curling.org.nz/httpdocs/images/2012/nzss/



There was a problem rendering your image gallery. Please make sure that the folder you are using in the Simple Image Gallery Pro plugin tags exists and contains valid image files. The plugin could not locate the folder: images/2012/nzss/

NZ School trophies head north

Birkenhead v Maniototo

12 Oct 2012 – Both the Girls and Boy's titles headed north after the 2012 NZ Secondary School Curling Championships, held in Dunedin on 5-7 October, the middle weekend of the school break.

Birkenhead College won six straight games to claim the Girls' Championship.

The Long Bay Boys team also had a perfect record, 8-from-8, to win their competition.

Girls Championship

Five teams contested the Girls' competition. Birkenhead and Epsom Girls Grammar travelled from Auckland to join Maniototo Area School and two Otago Girls High School sides.

The tightest of the round robin matches was in the first round, when Birkenhead needed an extra end to tough out a 7-6 win over a competitive Maniototo side.

Birkenhead won their remaining pool game comfortably to finish as top qualifier. Joining then in the semi-finals were Maniototo and Otago Girls 2 with a 2 win / 2 loss record. They were joined by Epsom Girls who shared the same 1W-3L record as Otago Girls 1, but had a superior average draw shot distance.

Maniototo and Birkenhead were the semi-final winners but the final was a one-sided affair. The experience of Junior Olympians Eleanor Adviento and Kelsi Heath, with good support from Gabrielle Po Ching and Eloise Pointon, was too much for the gallant efforts of Maniototo's Holly Thompson, Catherine Greer, Jessica Smith and Elle Steele.

Epsom Girls upset Otago Girls for the bronze medal.

Boys Championship

The Long Bay side of Garion Long, Tamara Long, Matt Hohaia and Alex Martyn won all six of their pool matches, although there were many tight games amongst them. The results of Birkenhead College showed the evenness of the competition – all of their four wins in the round robin were by a single point, with two of them in an extra end.

Maniototo Area School and Birkenhead finished on a 4-2 win-loss record. The fourth semi-finalist was Kavanagh College 2 who had 3 wins and 3 losses.

Long Bay and Birkenhead both recorded one-sided semi-final wins, but the charmed run of the young Birkkenhead side (Kurt Haynes, Scotty Gannaway, Matt Cox and Troy McLaren) ended when Long Bay took the final 7-1.

Maniototo wind the bronze medal match 5-3 over Kavanagh 2.


Speaking for the NZCA, Peter Becker commended all participants on their enthusiasm and participation in th event. He noted it was pleasing to see the increased interest from the South Island Schools in particular, with Otago Girls and Kavanagh College both with two teams at their first entry to the championship.

Tournament Teams

Three New Zealand reps who will represent their country at the 2013 Pacific Junior Championships were acknowledged

  • Eleanor Adviento (Birkenhead College)
  • Kelsi Heath (Birkenhead College)
  • Garion Long (Long Bay College)

The tournament teams were then named from the other players at the tournament:

Girls:  Skip Holly Thompson Maniototo Area School
  3rd Milli Lobo Otago Girls High School
  2nd Gabrielle Po Ching  Birkenhead College
  Lead  Chloe Li Epsom Girls Grammar School
  5th Chui-Ann Khoo Epsom Girls Grammar School
Boys:  Skip Kurt Haynes Birkenhead College
  3rd Josh Whyte Maniototo Area School
  2nd Matt Hohaia Long Bay College
  Lead Patrick Copson Kavanagh College
  5th Oliver Jarvis Otago Boys High School